Participation in International Organizations

The Holy See has Permanent Observer status with several international organizations (such as the UN, FAO and UNESCO), and is a member of others (such as IAEA, the International Atomic Energy Agency and the UNWTO, the UN World Tourism Organization). Vatican City State also participates in other organizations, among them:

- the Universal Postal Union (UPU)

- the International Telecommunications Union (ITU)

- the International Grain Council

- the World Organization for Intellectual Properties (WOIP)

- the International Union of Berne that protects literary and artistic works

- the International Union of Paris for the protection of industrial properties

- the World Medical Association

- the International Organization of Satellite Telecommunications (INTELSAT)

- the European Organization of Satellite Telecommunications (EUTELSAT)